Posted in Travel, Vacation

Driving from Iowa to The Black Hills

Good Morning!

As I posted late last night, we safely reached our destination.  It took us about 9 hours of actual driving from Osage, Iowa to Deadwood, South Dakota.  We stopped along the way and it was a very relaxed 11 hour trip.
I was up early due to the time change and the plan was to take early morning pictures of God’s majestic beauty that is the Black Hills of South Dakota.
I was here around 50 years ago and have virtually no memory of the vacation however, many of the historical places have not changed and I am almost sure nature has not, either.
Strangely as I sit here smelling the air, listening to the quiet movement of needles and watching the wildlife scamper around with breakfast, I am reminded of something else.  The mountains of Colorado where my father’s family gathered in the summers during the 1970’s.
Yesterday, we travelled through the 3 states of Iowa, Minnesota and South Dakota.  Once we crossed the border into South Dakota is when everything seemed to change.  Interstate 90 lacked semi’s and had transformed to just campers, pick up trucks, vans and SUV’s.  The rest areas were manned information centers, free brochures and travel books along with a museum or historical artifact.  Signs were not for gas, food and lodging; but, family friendly tours and things to do.  The landscape went from flat, to foothills that looked like table tops and finally the mountains.
We stopped at the Missouri river crossing, Wall Drugstore, ate our first buffalo burger, drove through downtown Deadwood, before reaching Madsen’s Mountain.
We were so glad that the owner came to meet us and tell about the bitter sweet history of the place we are staying in (next blog)
The only hitch?  The cistern ran dry earlier in the day, they had water delivered but it is not pumping to our place.  I think I heard them in the middle of the night bringing in another load of water.  The result is that as of this morning, we have water trickling from the kitchen sink, which we can pour into the toilet.  The poor owner is so embarrassed and apologetic.  We have told her that we are totally fine.  We will be gone all day in the Badlands and she has someone coming to fix the problem.
P.S. It reached 107F as a high yesterday.  At least it was 65 degrees last night.  UGH!
#JewelsForThePauper
Where everything is fit for a Queen
But
Priced for the Pauper
Author:

"If someone would have told me 10 years ago that I would be here today...." You hear that said a lot when someone is fulfilling an ambition they've had for years but never thought to act on it. I have been a full time reseller for a year. There have been ups, downs and a huge learning curve for me. Once I got a hang on the selling platforms, I explored other social media and ecommerce options. Currently, #JewelsForThePauper is on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest and now BlogSpot. I have had this ambition, I knew I would be able to act on it at the right time. I feel so grateful to be able to do something I enjoy, be my own boss and bring in extra cash for our household. I am not sure where this blog is going to "go," but you have to have a start and today is the day!

Leave a Reply

