Posted in Travel, Vacation

Need to get away?

 

Day 2 of this fun, old fashioned, couple vacation and we have so many great memories to add.

Last night, we reached Osage, Iowa. The town, as well as the AirBnB we reserved is off the beaten path. Anyone can stay at the Holiday Inn and eat at Howard Johnson’s…..wait, I mean you could have 50 years ago. I digress.

Can you say that you have spent the night in a refinished country church from 1890 and eaten the best BBQ in the State of Iowa? We can now cross this off our bucket list.

Elliott’s Burr Oak Church is about 5 minutes from Osage and was totally refurbished in 2006. It was originally a Baptist Church and much the original elements were saved. It boasts two separate lofts with a queen and twin bed, a half and a 3/4 bath, kitchen with an island and an open concept dining/family/living room. It was perfect for us, but you could also bring the family along as the couch folds out.

The family has obviously taken a lot of time to furnish and decorate. The converted gas chandeliers were the first in the county. The quilts were a mixture of period, handmade and modern. The wood throughout is all reclaimed in a simple shaker style and absolutely gorgeous. The wood floor shows the cut nails along with the wear of the rollers from the huge divider doors.

While there were the modern amenities like 300 channels of TV and Wi-Fi, I read a book and kept looking around.

We took a break and headed to town for dinner. I had used TripAdvisor to help us choose. Osage my be small but it’s Main Street is vibrant and the people are friendly. We decided on Piggyback Shack and I am so glad we did.

We both ordered the assorted meat plate with a side and cornbread. I had the brisket and shredded pork while my husband ordered the turkey and pork loin. They brought bottles of 8 different kinds of homemade BBQ sauce that had ingredients such as blue berries, raspberries and avocados. I was almost relieved when they served it on a lipped metal baking tray with a pile of napkins and wet wipes…and I did not wear white.

All the meat was nicely smoked, had smoke ring and was very tender. The smoked macaroni & cheese as well the potatoes were both rich and creamy. Nothing could top the cornbread! It was dense and moist served with honeyspun butter.

This restaurant is also known for it’s pies that are made fresh daily. I knew this before ordering dinner, but didn’t save room for dessert.

The only thing I can complain about, sans the 105F degree heat is the spotty cell phone reception. We know when we have reception when our phones suddenly make sounds in rapid succession, but we can’t get messages answered quick enough before we lose reception again. So, if I haven’t answered your email, text, IM, DM, etc, I am not mad at you, nor am I ignoring you.

Upload in 3.2.1 ( while I have WiFi)

Author:

"If someone would have told me 10 years ago that I would be here today...." You hear that said a lot when someone is fulfilling an ambition they've had for years but never thought to act on it. I have been a full time reseller for a year. There have been ups, downs and a huge learning curve for me. Once I got a hang on the selling platforms, I explored other social media and ecommerce options. Currently, #JewelsForThePauper is on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest and now BlogSpot. I have had this ambition, I knew I would be able to act on it at the right time. I feel so grateful to be able to do something I enjoy, be my own boss and bring in extra cash for our household. I am not sure where this blog is going to "go," but you have to have a start and today is the day!

Leave a Reply

