Posted in Sales, Sourcing, Time Management

Moving On Up….To The South Side

It is time to take my relationship with my business to the next step.  I am moving it out of my home.

It was getting confusing.  Where did my business end and my house begin and vice versa.  I go to bed and can see the mannequin staring at me!  Visitors would wonder if I was a secret hoarder.  I am not sure what the mailman thought.

I will lose my two furry assistants, but they may be relieved when they get their pink slips.  I won’t be able to work in my pajamas (that was the BEST.)  I will have to venture out in the heat and the cold, four blocks away.

It’s just time to grow.  There will be a lot of room to do just that.

You enter through a terrace that has overgrown rose bushes and other perennials and on to a covered set of french doors.  This was what first attracted me to the office.  It does not face Main Street and is not a storefront.  I suppose later on, we could do some consignment business but that is far into the future.

As you walk in, the first room has a long countertop with cupboards underneath.  This will make the perfect packing and printing station.  Right now, we use 3 different rooms to pack and ship.

The next room will be the actual office.  It has only 1 window so I guess we’ll have to flip a coin to see who gets the desk in the corner next to that window.  The room is big enough to sort, measure, inventory, and enter information on the spreadsheets for the virtual assistants.

We have a large kitchen along with a beautiful bathroom/dressing room.  It is nice to have, but a bit extravagant.  I’m sure it will be much like the grand terrace, something we will use and utilize later.

Next, we have a large room without windows.  No more changing photo backgrounds and the mannequin looking at me while I sleep.  I believe I can have 4 stationary backgrounds.  I am imagining being able to move the tripod around the room and be able to take pictures so much faster and without having to adjust the lighting!

Last is the closet which is bigger than the bathroom.  The storage we have now will allow us to keep all of the inventory we have in one room (whew!)  There are metal shelves, but I have a feeling they will not be able to hold the weight of items we are storing.  We shall soon see.

Admittedly, being committed to monthly rent in addition to payroll is a bit daunting but I am not scared.  I have faith that as long as I have inventory, I am photographing, listing, weekend markdowns and offer priority shipping, that I will be able to meet those obligations.  I honestly don’t think I will make more than that for quite a while.

Jewels For The Pauper

Where everything is fit for Queen

But

Priced for a Pauper

Now located at:

118 South Main Street

Corner of Green and Main

Farmer City, IL  61842

 

Author:

"If someone would have told me 10 years ago that I would be here today...." You hear that said a lot when someone is fulfilling an ambition they've had for years but never thought to act on it. I have been a full time reseller for a year. There have been ups, downs and a huge learning curve for me. Once I got a hang on the selling platforms, I explored other social media and ecommerce options. Currently, #JewelsForThePauper is on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest and now BlogSpot. I have had this ambition, I knew I would be able to act on it at the right time. I feel so grateful to be able to do something I enjoy, be my own boss and bring in extra cash for our household. I am not sure where this blog is going to "go," but you have to have a start and today is the day!

Leave a Reply

