Posted in Sourcing

Where Did You Find That?

No matter where you live, a reseller can become bored sourcing the same items at the same place each week.  Not only that, your store begins to reflect your inability to find new and trendy items.

I live in a rural community, so unless someone is knocking on my door to drop off items, I will be driving at least 15-30 minutes.  Therefore, I have to plan thrifting trips.  I fill up the tank, bring a lunch and hit the road, but not as often is I like.

I dream of the day I have someone local to measure, describe and photograph my items.  That person would send them to the virtual assistant to list.  Then have a high-schooler come in the afternoons to pack and ship sold items.  I would source and do the accounting.

Here is where I would go on a regular basis if that dream ever comes true:

  • The Goodwill Outlets!  I have never been but am planning a trip next month.  The closest ones are 2 hours away, but if you live in a large city it is a place that goes through inventory quickly. They sell by the pound so you can get some really nice items very cheap.
  • Savers!  Again, the distance keeps me from going.  They do sell by the item, but I have heard of some unbeatable prices for items.
  • Goodwill and Salvation Army!  The prices are very high in many locations.  But if you have time to look for the 1/2 off color of the week and have a decent knowledge of brands, you can score some listings there.
  • Estate Sales!  It is a great place to find jewelry, clothing and vintage home items.  You have to be patient and must have a limit of the highest price you are willing to get it for.
  • Thrift/Charity shops.  Most have “half Price colors,” and have a daily special.  Most items are priced by volunteers. If you see a price that is too high, don’t be afraid to ask for a reduction.
  • Garage Sales!  This is another situation where the owner (who is emotionally invested ) will be willing to negotiate in order to keep from pitting it all away
  • Social Media!  Facebook groups can be a great way to get cheap items without burning a tank of gas.
  • Your own closet!  Clean it out and sell the items!

I hope these blogs are helping him.  You can subscribe easily to get updates o. New blogs!

#JewelsForthepauper

Where items are Fit for a Queen

But

Priced for the Pauper1

Author:

"If someone would have told me 10 years ago that I would be here today...." You hear that said a lot when someone is fulfilling an ambition they've had for years but never thought to act on it. I have been a full time reseller for a year. There have been ups, downs and a huge learning curve for me. Once I got a hang on the selling platforms, I explored other social media and ecommerce options. Currently, #JewelsForThePauper is on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest and now BlogSpot. I have had this ambition, I knew I would be able to act on it at the right time. I feel so grateful to be able to do something I enjoy, be my own boss and bring in extra cash for our household. I am not sure where this blog is going to "go," but you have to have a start and today is the day!

Leave a Reply

