Posted in Dresses, Sourcing

The Perfect Prom Dress – The Hunt Begins

When I first started reselling, the only items I wanted to sell were formal gowns.  I love vintage gowns from 1950-1970.  I could buy them cheap, remove the stains, repair a few flaws and sell them at a ridiculously high gross profit!

Once a month….

So, 10 months out of the year I list items that will sell daily.  However, January 15-March 15, I will list the gowns I have purchased throughout the year.  I also list 1St Communion and Easter Dresses.

The trending prom dresses for 2017 are A-line with a train or a 2 piece.  Sequins and glitter complete the effect and the are definitely not understated.

You might think that there is no way a girl would buy her prom dress second-hand on EBay.  Think again because the girls who have purchased from me have said they had a limited budget, a hard to find size, or simply wanted to wear something that no one else would.

I price my dresses on EBay under $50 with free shipping.  I cross-post on Poshmark at around $70, expecting to sell at $50.

Throughout the year, I try to find sizes 14 and above.  Most of the time, bridal and formal dress shops cater to the 00-9 girl, and order large sizes on an ‘as needed’ basis.  A deposit is requested and kept if the girl doesn’t purchase the dress.  Because of this, I promote my 30 day return policy and they only pay shipping to send it back to me.

Some girls just don’t want to adhere to the trending fashion.  They want a one-of-a-kind dress that no one else will be wearing.  There is nothing more embarrassing to these girls than to have the same dress as 4 other girls.  No one feels flattered.

The last few years, I have gotten messages from schools arranging for free prom dresses.  They offer to pay shipping and I always participate.  I receive thank you notes and pictures from the girls and that is worth so much more than the $50 I might have gotten.

So, for the next few months I will be focusing on my original niche that truly enjoy.  By March, my ‘stash’ of dresses will be gone and I will be on the look out for next year!

If you have been enjoying the content of this blog, just push the subscribe button to alert you when a new installment is posted!

If you have ideas or something to add, feel free to add it to the comments below.

#JewelsForThePauper

Where everything is Fit for a Queen

But

Priced For the Pauper!

Author:

"If someone would have told me 10 years ago that I would be here today...." You hear that said a lot when someone is fulfilling an ambition they've had for years but never thought to act on it. I have been a full time reseller for a year. There have been ups, downs and a huge learning curve for me. Once I got a hang on the selling platforms, I explored other social media and ecommerce options. Currently, #JewelsForThePauper is on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest and now BlogSpot. I have had this ambition, I knew I would be able to act on it at the right time. I feel so grateful to be able to do something I enjoy, be my own boss and bring in extra cash for our household. I am not sure where this blog is going to "go," but you have to have a start and today is the day!

Leave a Reply

