Posted in Virtual Assistant

And the winner of The Perfect Virtual Assistant is…….

This is Part 2 of my Journey to find a virtual assistant.  This is not a ‘How To’ Blog because I believe there is no right way to do this.

My last blog entry began with my thought process of going about finding candidates and ended with 5 prospects.  One American, two Filipino and Two Indian candidates were picked for the short list.

I wasn’t particularly interested in interviewing them via Skype.  I know that this is common practice when hiring a virtual assistant.  I submitted 25 questions and a short task to each applicant.  It was their written words and abilities I was interested in, not their ability to speak.

The American (at $15 an hour and no weekends) answered the questions and did not do the short task.  Her answers were not checked for spelling but she did end it with her opinion on this process.  Apparently during her long career of 3 months, no one submits questions or asks others to complete a task free of charge. I must be a weirdo or creepy because I am hiding behind some virtual curtain.

That went well.

The two Filipino women (at $2-3 limited weekends), one did not fill out the questionnaire or do the short task.  The other did fill it out.  She did not have the experience of listing on Ebay, but she promised to try very hard to learn.  She had a bachelors degree in Business and a family that needed her attention.    I honestly wanted to give her a chance, but her grammatical errors and inability t complete the short task correctly made me realize that I would be spending a lot of time training.  Time is the reason I am hiring a virtual assistant.

Indian gentleman number one ($5/hr and weekend availability) completed his questionnaire.  His spelling and written English was better than some of the Facebook posts I had seen.  He was eager to please.  Looking at his work for pasts clients, he leaned more towards graphic arts and anime.  Neither are important to me, but he is quite talented.  Unfortunately, he did not complete the small task correctly.

Indian gentleman number two ($5/hr and 24/7/365 availability) completed his questionnaire, making me wonder at times if he is an English teacher.  He completed the small task, adding a few bells and whistles.  He has been in constant contact with me and even went the extra mile to research my business and reach out to me on my business Facebook page.

What was the small task I asked each to complete?  Construct a spreadsheet using Google Docs.  Please include 8 fields which will be the information needed to complete an Ebay listing along with an inventory number field that will automatically advance with each listing. A 10 minute task at the very most.

Indian Gentleman number two will be hired as The Perfect Virtual Assistant for JewelsForThePauper.

I believe my relief in knowing that my business will be growig exponentially far outweighs the process of  finding this person.

If you have comments or suggestions for future blogs, I would love to hear them!   Just comment below.

If you would like to be notified when a new blog is published, just hit the subscribe button.

#JewelsForThePauper

Where items are Fit for a Queen

But

Priced for the Pauper

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

"If someone would have told me 10 years ago that I would be here today...." You hear that said a lot when someone is fulfilling an ambition they've had for years but never thought to act on it. I have been a full time reseller for a year. There have been ups, downs and a huge learning curve for me. Once I got a hang on the selling platforms, I explored other social media and ecommerce options. Currently, #JewelsForThePauper is on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest and now BlogSpot. I have had this ambition, I knew I would be able to act on it at the right time. I feel so grateful to be able to do something I enjoy, be my own boss and bring in extra cash for our household. I am not sure where this blog is going to "go," but you have to have a start and today is the day!

Leave a Reply

