Posted in Uncategorized

For the love of Levi’s

I will let you in on a little secret.  I LOVE selling Levi’s!  Okay, but why would I devote today’s blog to this?  It’s called Keeping It Simple Stupid.

As a 50+ year old #reseller, I am familiar with the way the brand has evolved over the years.  It is a brand that has been around long before I was born and there are people out there that will only wear this brand.

I consistently sell them between $25-$30 with free priority shipping ($6.00) in a flat rate legal size envelope.

Here is what I look for when sourcing Levi’s:

  • Big, Tall or Short Sizes.  I don’t sell these exclusively but have found that they will sell quickly (hours or overnight.)  Some memorable sizes have been a men’s 56×30, a women’s 24WP and a women’s 2T.  Better yet, you will find them in thrift stores for 99 cents because they are. Hard to sell.
  • Made In USA.  Finding them is a little difficult, but check small thrift and charity shops as well as estate sales.  Clothing Made in the USA has a following anyway but Levi’s has it’s own little niche no matter what the size.
  • Wear does not matter.  Unlike other clothing items, I have sold them with holes, tears and fading.  People do not care, as long as you have taken great close up shots and have described them well.  Stains are where I draw a line,  and pass them up.  They might sell, but I don’t  want to run the risk a return by someone who thought they might be able to get the stain out.
  • Stick to the basics.  I stay away from anything that is not blue.  I don’t buy carpenter style.  I have sold Levi’s that have a winter lining, but I paid more for them and got the same price as the unlined jeans. I also stay away from baggy, extreme low rise, flare or bling.  I do buy relaxed, stretch, skinny, bootcut and straight.  Skinny is a fad, so make sure that these are in excellent shape.
  • Wash the jeans before selling. Some clothes I don’t, but with all Levi’s I do.  My personal opinion is that the they hold whatever smell they were exposed to.  Tide Pods are my go to brand.  If there are smoke or pet smells, soak overnight in Dawn, Vinegar, Baking Soda and water.  Then soak for an hour in clear water, wash as usual.
  • When listing, the title should begin with Levi’s and I never include the word Vintage.  My opinion is that the buyer is specifically looking for Levi’s and does not care about the age.  Always include the style (501, 505, 512, 519) because most purchasers are looking for their favorite number.  Take the time to measure the waist, rise, inseam and hem circumference so that the customer is confident about the fit.

Levi’s are my bread and butter item for all the reasons listed above.

If you liked this blog, leave me a comment below and or subscribe.  I would love to hear from you!

JewelsForThePauper can be found on Ebay, Etsy, Poshmark and Facebook.  We are also on Instagram, Twitter and Pinterest.

JewelsForThePauper

Items that are fit for a Queen

But

Priced for the Pauper

Author:

"If someone would have told me 10 years ago that I would be here today...." You hear that said a lot when someone is fulfilling an ambition they've had for years but never thought to act on it. I have been a full time reseller for a year. There have been ups, downs and a huge learning curve for me. Once I got a hang on the selling platforms, I explored other social media and ecommerce options. Currently, #JewelsForThePauper is on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest and now BlogSpot. I have had this ambition, I knew I would be able to act on it at the right time. I feel so grateful to be able to do something I enjoy, be my own boss and bring in extra cash for our household. I am not sure where this blog is going to "go," but you have to have a start and today is the day!

Leave a Reply

