Posted in Shipping, Uncategorized

Boxing Day – But with a Twist

For those in the UK and Canada, this day was actually yesterday, December 26th.  For resellers, this is the day to box up sales from Friday-Monday.  Listening to YouTube and looking at Instagram early this morning, the results are varied.  Some had the best weekend in a month, with sales starting around noon on Christmas Day.  Others said they should have gone on vacation because there is nothing to Box and Ship out!

This morning, I have 8 items to ship out.  I really didn’t know what to expect since I was actively selling only on Ebay last year.  I had not goal except to be grateful for each and every sale because it is a blessing to our family.

I felt that today would be a great time to explain the system I use to ship packages out.  Mine way is not special, it is a compilation of processes from other YouTubers that through trial and error, fit for me.

  • I load up each of my platforms (Ebay Store 1, Ebay Store 2, Etsy, Poshmark, Amazon, Facebook and Instagram) to the Orders Page, so that I have a full grasp of what today’s Boxing will entail.
  • I handwrite a “Thank You” card for each sale.  I thank them for their purchase, I describe the purchase, I ask them to contact me with any problems and I encourage them to give me feedback on their transaction.  By describing their item, they know I am taking the time out to personally thank them.
  • Feedback has two schools of thought, but I’m genuinely not afraid of what people will say.  Most platforms will remove feedback that is slanderous and without proof.  I have also gone back to the purchaser to work things out and they have changed the feedback.
  • I find each item that needs to be shipped out and carefully inspect each one last time.  I have found defects at the last-minute.  It is so much better to email your customer, explain the defect and ask them to decide on the outcome (Cancel, Discount or Send).  These tiny details can come back to haunt you and cost you time and money.
  • I choose an item, package it and place the Thank You card on top.
  • I do use tissue paper (NEVER with glitter, trust me!) for clothing, bubble wrap for hard goods as well as fragile ones.  I am very lucky as I have found a thrift shop that sells used, by the pound.  Ebay seems to have the best pricing for these items.  Try not to scrimp on this to save a buck.  Customers appreciate when they see the care you have taken to ship their purchase.
  • Do not seal the package yet!  Weigh it on your scale (I found a digital scale that goes to 12 pounds at a thrift store for $1.  Again, Ebay is your best bet)
  • I check each way this item can be shipped.  First Class, Fed Ex, Regional Priority, Flat Priority and Weight Priority. I provide free First Class or Fed Ex Smart post.  The other options are something a customer pays for.  Around holidays, I mark up prices a bit and just send them all priority.
  • I always use the platform’s shipping because it is usually discounted commercial.  I never mail without tracking.  There are many resellers that do and that is fine.  I have been marked on Ebay with late shipping, because the customer didn’t tell Ebay they had received the package.  Spend the $3.65 and forget the stamps.
  • After printing out the correct shipping label and attaching it to the package, I take one last look to make sure the item is packed properly, it is going to the right address and my Thank You note is on top.  I seal it, check it off the list and put it in the outgoing box.
  • I move on to the next item and repeat.  I’ve tried packaging several at a time, and it takes me longer because I am concerned it will go to the wrong person.  *Knock on Wood* it has not happened to me yet, but I have heard stories from other resellers.
  • IF you ordered USPS pickup, woke up early and had your packages ready before 8am…. Congratulations!  I usually have mine done before 10am and running them to the Post Office.  Just don’t wait until afternoon, thinking you might get another sale or you will be sending them out late.
  • A side note is that I generally have no noise in the background when I am getting orders ready to ship.  I used to and found I was distracted.  Whatever works great for you!

I hope this description has been some help if you are a reseller.  If you have ideas, please write a comment down below!  If you are interested in what we do, just search #JewelsForThePauper on Google.

We are on Ebay, Etsy, Poshmark, Amazon, Instagram, Twitter, Facebook and WordPress

JewelsForThePauper

Where items are fit for a Queen

But

Priced for a Pauper

 

 

 

 

Author:

"If someone would have told me 10 years ago that I would be here today...." You hear that said a lot when someone is fulfilling an ambition they've had for years but never thought to act on it. I have been a full time reseller for a year. There have been ups, downs and a huge learning curve for me. Once I got a hang on the selling platforms, I explored other social media and ecommerce options. Currently, #JewelsForThePauper is on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest and now BlogSpot. I have had this ambition, I knew I would be able to act on it at the right time. I feel so grateful to be able to do something I enjoy, be my own boss and bring in extra cash for our household. I am not sure where this blog is going to "go," but you have to have a start and today is the day!

Leave a Reply

